Hatchling photos. . .

As promised, here are the photos of the French Standard Feather Shanked Black Copper Marans chick pipping it’s way into the world. I finally got to watch the whole process and realized that the chick actually turns itself around inside the shell and breaks off small pieces as it circles the shell, like a can opener. Then it just pops out!

And I am the chickie’s mama! The one that hatched three days before and the new one are sitting in my lap as I type. The first one will be Carloman, or Louise depending on the gender, and the second will be Pippin the Younger, or Bertrada. I had a grandmother named Bertie, and as I child I thought her name was Birdie.

Three more dark chocolate BCMs eggs arrived today and are already in the incubator. These will add to the genetics of my little Marans flock. If I had to narrow it down to three breeds, it would be Welsummers, Australorps and BCMarans, as they are all very sweet birds.

  1. Oh, what fun. I just got to see a baby chick
    be “born”. So interesting, Hope Chickie Mom
    and chicks are doing well.

    • jadegardens
    • April 1st, 2010

    They are chirping as they sit huddled in my lap!
    I am just relieved to have finished my project.
    Also I managed to get the printer to refund
    the price of the poorly printed business cards,
    so new ones were ordered today.

    Now I can concentrate on getting ME looking good.
    Spa treatment, mineral water, skin care, manicure and pedicure,
    all done by me of course!
    I can probably drop 5 pounds just not being behind the computer,
    so the goats and I will be cruising the neighborhood again and that,
    my friend, is a workout!

    • jim ledbetter
    • April 1st, 2010

    Interesting, goats cruising the neighborhood. Hope the conference provides you with some work. I enjoyed the hatching pictures. Rather exotic species that provides you with such pleasure.
    Hope you are getting better.

      • jadegardens
      • April 2nd, 2010

      Thanks Jim! I have been feeling better for the last week, probably because the sun was out more. Walking the goats, or should I say, being walked by the goats, is always a fun adventure. We stop at any houses where children are playing outside and they all run out to pet them.

  2. Those photos are AMAZING…….. will be showing my Chicken Wranglers these…… that last image in particular is so fascinatingly vividly exact!

      • jadegardens
      • April 2nd, 2010

      Aren’t they fun! The chicks are so pitiful when they hatch, I find it hard to believe they have the strength to break through an egg shell.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

