Winter Squash Harvest

The Winter Squash were not pleased with their new beds, as a result, I only ended up with 35+ for storage. The Red Kuri were successful again, and will turn bright red in storage:

IMG_0079

This variety is a mystery still. It was labeled as a European Melon, so I sliced into one in August and it was still green and was not sweet at all:

IMG_9793_72

So I let the remaining ones stay on the vine. Each one was picked a week or so apart, and is turning a deep red orange, so my guess is the variety is a squash that was mislabeled. I have searched the internet for anything that looks like it, but have been unsuccessful. The largest one is over 15″ wide. If it keeps well and tastes yummy, I will definitely grow it again:

IMG_0078

My favorite pumpkins are always the New England Sugar Pie. Small and sweet! This one is turning from green to orange:

IMG_0080

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

