Valentine Parties

As I sat quietly today I remembered how absolutely overboard my sweet husband would go on Valentine’s Day, the cakes, the cookies, the teddy bears. . . an endless parade of love and affection. Thinking of the way he set the table and was just giddy over serving me, which he did every night, however on this night he was presenting days of preparation and love.

___________________

This triggered memories of the Valentine’s Parties I hosted for all the single ladies old enough to hold a vintage tea cup without breaking it. Fancy dresses were encouraged and everyone was treated like a princess that night. I look at those photos and marvel, hoping that someday I will be in a place of extending myself again.

  • Trackback are closed
  • Comments (9)
  1. I always loved the photos of the Ladies Tea Parties that
    you hosted, and to hear the comments, the oohs and
    ahhs over all the lovely things that you created for
    their enjoyment. The little girls were so impressed
    and excited. Who else would go to so much work
    to make it very special for them?!
    You certainly created memories.

    • jadegardens
    • February 15th, 2010

    We had a few tea parties ourselves, didn’t we?! I especially liked the one with the Queen at the Empress Hotel in Victoria. Oh, wait, that’s right. We forgot to bring our gold embossed invitation and ended up taking low tea with the common folk, but it was fun and memorable. Next time, don’t forget your white gloves and maybe the doorman behind the velvet rope will let us sneak in.

  2. Oh oh oh! Pleeeeeeease do another one for us!!!!!!!! Looks so lovely :)))

      • jadegardens
      • February 16th, 2010

      It was SUPPOSED to be just for the single ladies, but the word got out! I did do something similar at church for the ladies, I was even the guest speaker! hmmm. What ever did happen to Martha Stewart? 😉

    • jadegardens
    • February 16th, 2010

    Oh, and I either gave away or sold most of the pink things, although I did keep all of the red transferware china and glasses. The pink floral china is now in Autumn B’s “hope chest”. So I guess we could do a red party!

  3. Orrrrrrr….we could raid Autumn’s hope chest LOL (kidding! just kidding!!!)

    • jadegardens
    • February 16th, 2010

    You are very funny! Well, truth be known I still have several sets from back when I was entertaining. I have been giving things away because I had planned on being a hermit from here on out! 🙂

  4. Yeah, good luck with that, Ms. Older-Titus 2-Teach-the-Younger-Women. We need you!

    • jadegardens
    • February 16th, 2010

    Well, this preacher girl has been proclaiming, “vanity of vanities, all is vanity” lately. I have forsaken lace and lavender for compost and carrots. But perhaps when the weather is nicer, we will have lace covered tables in the garden!

Leave a Reply

