Poor Mom

She had to go to bed last night without an update from me. I hope she did not wait too long! My arms hurt too much to type so I went to bed at 9:00 after spending the day trimming back the butterfly bushes, or should I say, trees. They have reached 20 feet because I did not trim them back last year.

Last week E and I hacked and cut on the ones along the front, so yesterday I trimmed back four others around the property. The goats are happily munching on the downed limbs this morning, so I will only have the bare wood to deal with in no time at all. But all the trimming and dead heading I have done the last few weeks has created at least two trailer loads of debris to haul to recycle. Unfortunately the trailer hitches were on the two trucks I gave away, plus I haven’t pulled a trailer in a very long time. The good news is that my driveway is circular so I would not have to back in!

So I will chop everything into little bits and compost the smallest pieces and burn the largest. E is coming back today so I will ask him to help me chop it up.

  • Trackback are closed
  • Comments (2)
  1. You are an amazing painter of light. You might shelve it
    for now but don’t abandon it.

    The Geisha is lovely and deserves a place in one of your
    paintings.

    • jadegardens
    • February 26th, 2010

    Thank you to my Number One Fan! I have painted some light, but did you notice the absence of shadows! Oh, details, details.

    I may keep working on it a bit more to see if it starts to grow on me. I always have to remind myself that at some point I hate all the pieces and just have to get through that awkward stage.

    Part of the problem is writing the story as I go along, instead of starting with a story and illustrating it. At this point I am going to stop and write the story, so I will know how it ends!

Leave a Reply

