Remembering Sparky

Someday I am going to turn this into a children’s book. Its hard to imagine that I rescued this baby Robin from the crows, then cared for it until it finally flew away. It was so much fun gardening with Sparky following me around the yard, waiting for worms. I hope he/she finally figured out that digging for worms does not require a shovel! I often wonder if I heard the crows trying to kill a baby robin again, would I plug my ears, but no, I believe I would do it all over again if I had the time. Every Robin that lands in my yard gets called Sparky now, just in case.

Snow White!

  1. Yes, Sparky definitely deserves to be in a book.
    Remember the day when Sparky flew and hit the
    window when he/she heard you inside talking on the
    phone to me.
    I thought about Sparky when I saw a fat Robin
    outside our door this evening. Spring has sprung.

      • jadegardens
      • March 23rd, 2010

      Poor Sparky had to come back inside and rehabilitate a hurt wing before the final journey could begin. Last year I saw a Robin looking at me intently, so I did my little Sparky call. The Robin cocked its head sideways and did not fly away as I walked closer. Finally it was startled by a car driving by and flew away. I like to think it was a Sparky Encounter of the Close Kind!

    • Ruth Caron
    • June 13th, 2011

    You really should turn this into a children’s book! You already have all of the illustrations. This is heart warming in just looking at the pictures. Sparky has a whole new meaning to me. πŸ™‚

      • jadegardens
      • June 13th, 2011

      Thanks Ruth! I even have photos of Sparky riding on Dan’s shoulder! That was quite the adventure. πŸ™‚

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

